Billion Dollar Whale: The Man Who Fooled Wall Street, Hollywood, and the World

$14.00

Category:

Description

The definitive inside account of the “abnormal” (Financial Times) 1MDB scandal, “a true life thriller” (Ben Mezrich) about a “brand new Gatsby” who managed to swindle over $5 billion with assistance from Goldman Sachs and others–a “should read” (Booklist) “epic tale” (Publishers Weekly) that exposes the name of the game nexus of elite wealth, banking, Hollywood, and politics from two award-winning Wall Street Journal reporters.

In 2009, with the dust yet to settle on the financial crisis, a baby-faced, seemingly mild-mannered Wharton grad started setting in motion a fraud of unprecedented gall and magnitude–one that would come to symbolize the next great threat to the global financial system. His name is Jho Low, a man whose behavior was once so preposterous he might seem made up.

An epic true-tale of hubris and greed, Billion Dollar Whale reveals how this young social climber pulled off probably the most biggest heists in history–right under the nose of the global financial industry. Federal agents who helped resolve Bernie Madoff’s Ponzi scheme say the 1MDB affair will develop into the textbook case of financial fraud in the brand new age–and its fallout is already being credited for taking down the prime minister of Malaysia. With his yacht and private jet reportedly seized by authorities and facing money-laundering charges in Malaysia, an Interpol red notice, and an ongoing U.S. Department of Justice Investigation, Low has develop into an international fugitive.

For readers of Liar’s Poker, Den of Thieves, and Bad Blood, Billion Dollar Whale will develop into a classic, harrowing parable about finance run amok.

Additional information

Author

Binding

EAN

EANList

ISBN

ItemDimensions

Label

Languages

Manufacturer

NumberOfItems

NumberOfPages

PackageDimensions

ProductGroup

ProductTypeName

PublicationDate

Publisher

ReleaseDate

Studio